Monday, 21 July 2014

Chapter Nine

"thanks bro, thought I could at least rely on you for support,"
"hey, you want me to blow smoke up your ass Jon, then I aint your man."
It suddenly dawned on me that the stalker was watching us both, I lent in close to Richie, "think we should get security and have her removed?, she's listening to us"
Rich nodded his head and whispered back, "yeah, use my room, I'll stay with her."
He handed me his key and without another word I left to go call the front desk for security.

I was possibly gone for no more than ten minutes, but walking back into my room, I felt a tension, a tension that wasn't there before, the pictures were on the coffee table still laying where I threw them, Richie was by the mini bar and by the look of the empty shot bottles he had drank three vodka's. This time it was my turn to ask if he was ok.

"Yeah I'm fine, just downed a couple so when I get back to bed I'll sleep" I sensed there was more to it than he said but didn't push, I just nodded and decided to leave alone, I was guessing he had words with our uninvited guest.
" what front desk say?"
just as I was gonna answer him there was a knock at the door, "Mr Bon Jovi, call for security?"

I went and opened the door, the security guard came into the room as Richie dragged the stalker from the sofa and deposited her in, we later learned Mikes arms, as he left he apologised and being head of security he would make sure that this never happened again.
I was not in the mood for apologies, if they had done there job correctly I would not be in this situation, I wanted to voice my anger, but stayed quiet instead, I would address there tardy professionalism with my lawyer.
both Rich and me stood at the hotel door and watched as he left dragging a protesting screaming women down the hallway and on to the elevator.

Closing the door I turned to Richie, "Bro I gotta go home."
"are you for real? at three am in the morning your gonna head home?"
"You heard her?"
"Yeah, I did... and...."
I interrupted, "look, Rich, she said she would go to the press by morning if I did not agree to her demands and I have no doubts that she will do what she say's.
"Who is she gonna talk with at three am?, be logical man."
"Logical, where has that got me?"
"a long way in life Jon, this is a glitch and a crazy bitch, it will blow over you'll see."
"oh right, so from you agreeing with me I'm screwed to now it will blow over?"
"I know, I know right, wrong thing for me to say."
"what I'm fucked or the bullshit your trying to wash on me now? Rich; I can't bare for Dot to hear this through the media, I need to go see her and prepare her for the crap that is gonna come out tomorrow."
"I think your crazy, you should call her out and grow some balls..."
"No, Rich, you have some balls, I need to go see Dot.."
"man, you aint thinking straight right now, listen, how will it look to Dot if you go home protesting your innocent at this time in the morning, and then the shit hits the fan on the news at eight am? you think she will believe you?, add in those photo's and man you are totally screwed, you will look guilty."
I sat down on the bed, baseball cap and glasses in hand, I looked up at Richie, I felt lost, and out of control and had no idea what I should do anymore, my head could not connect with the concept of handling this situation. "So what would you do?"
"me?, I'd ride it out man, and no, it aint an easy decision, but that's what I'd do, let the storm hit and clear up the shit after, then maybe I'd have a chance to prove my innocence."


1 comment:

  1. I think that Richie gave good and bad advise at the same time. Yes ride it out and see what she does. Why stir trouble with the wife if it all blows over. But.... If it doesn't then the first comment Dot would say (in my opinion) is why didn't you tell me this before now.... It's a lose, lose situation this time Jonny......

    Thanks I liked the chapter.

    ReplyDelete