I heard a scream, then realised it was coming from me. I looked at Richie, "what the fuck have you done?"
He looked back un perturbed by his actions, "Relax bro its a bluff."
"Oh you know that do you?, so you got some fucking crystal ball huh? well what if your wrong smartass?"
Rich walked round to the other side of the booth and sat down right next to Antonia's mom, leaving her squashed in by both of us. Grabbing the cell phone from her hand, he scrolled through the last dialled numbers.
"Just relax man.. everything's cool..."
Then giving me a stink eye, and shaking his head, he pressed the number and held the phone to his ear, "Tony its Richie, shocked eh?, I'm here with your mom, did she give you an order." she did?, well before you act on it buddy, think on this, the cops are on their way, and your mom is looking to go away for a long time, do you wanna join her?, I thought not, lets keep it that way shall we." he looked at me the whole time he was talking, then placing his hand over the mouthpiece he whispered in a low voice "for the love of god Jon 911, eh?"
Still in shock and shaking a little I pulled my cell from my pocket and pressed the three digits. In a minute the call was made and the cops were on there way.
Antonia's mom sat unable to move, but she listened while the stress and argument reigned between Rich and me.
"Rich you can be a dumbass sometimes?"
"Oh that's rich coming from you, a man who lets himself get caught in the shower naked."
"I didn't get caught, only nearly, and your outta line Rich, I'm still the boss remember?"
"Boss, man your head is so fucked with this shit, you aint been focused for weeks. I think a modicum of gratitude is needed right now, cause I've just saved your ass again buddy." he pressed end on the call to Tony and slammed the phone onto the table, and spat another in audible response in my direction, before turning his head away from me. Only looking back once to drink his shot.
I was real pissed with Rich, for two reasons, sure, some of what he said was true, but I'd defy anyone to not lose concentration and focus after having to deal with what I had, but it wasn't his job to tell me, and second, he had not only risked my life but that of my wife, and that was unforgiveable, no matter how it panned out.
My anger still raging I carried on the pouring fuel to the fire and yep, I overstepped the line, but it was outta my mouth before I could stop it.
"Gratitude? for you being a fucking dumbass, or a fucking retard? you choose and I'll happily lay it on for you?"
Rich looked at me with his brown eye's fixed in a glare, "Jon you piece of fucking shit, no what, you can just go fuck yourself, when the cops get here, I'm gone, so, fuck you and fuck the tour "
Still pressed against Antonia's mom he turned his back to me. I did the same, I ignored the chuckle coming from the witch next to me, with my leg resting on my knee I sat waiting, the gun resting in my hand, in the gap between my thighs, and with Rich and I not speaking nothing could stop the tension and atmosphere rising, and the longer we waited the stronger the intensity.
Looking to the doorway, I noticed the crowd that had gathered had all but gone, just two or three people remained.
Finally after what felt like forever the cops arrived, brought to the table by the hotel manager.
Cutting it short and going for the chase, an explanation was given and a time was booked for a Detective to call and meet me later to take my and Riches statement, relief sweeping over me as Antonia's mom was led away in cuffs.
Rich and I stood, both of us staring at each other, but still not speaking. In silence he turned from me and headed out of the bar, with a big sigh I did the same.
Walking through I saw him stood at the elevator waiting for it to arrive, he blanked me as I went past, I just tug my hands in my pockets and did the same, turning once to give him the stink eye, but he had already got onto the elevator.
Out of the hotel I breathed in the fresh air, and walked around the building to the main street, on the side walk I hailed a cab, getting in I gave the driver instructions to take me to St Jerome's Hospital then sat back thinking on everything that had happened.
I was hurt, I'd given Rich so many chances in the band, he'd let us all down on more times than I wanted to remember, but I always supported him, this is the first time that I had ever really called on him for help, and now I had....I was shocked he behaved the way he did, why? how could he do that to me? before I could carry on reasoning with myself to make sense of it all, my train of thought was interrupted when Matt rang to say he had arrived at the hospital with the cops and Tony had been arrested, and he reassured me D was fine too.
Perplexed as to how he knew what had gone on I asked him,
"Who told you?"
"Rich called said you'd had a fucked up afternoon?, what's the blow?"
"He did?, when he call?"
"Bout twenty minutes ago I guess, I dunno I wasn't looking at the time, you ok?"
"Yeah i'm fine now."
"So what gives then?"
"Nothing,
"Nothing, so why's Tony been arrested then?"
"Look, leave it Matt, ok, just for now please?"
"Ok, for now, but I wanna know bro, and I aint leaving it."
"Ok, ok, I'll explain when I get there, now quit it.?"
"Alright, don't stress out at me, I'm a good guy remember?"
Smiling I answered, "Ok, sorry, just been a shit day, ill see ya in a few, you will wait till I get there?" there was a short pause before Matts cheerful voice answered,
"Sure, no worries, rest easy bro, I'm here and going no where ok?"
"Thanks Matt."
" look Docs here, I better go, Ill see ya soon."
he ended the call and left me sitting in the cab, in mid town traffic again for the second time that day, this time I was not bothered and was happy to have some tranquillity and thinking time. I found myself smiling to myself thinking of Rich calling Matt, he did care then after all.
Oh I was hoping that you were going to make Jon go thru with it! Dam then when just about when he got there then he was going to nail her and not with sex but with the cops!
ReplyDelete